About the CDT

The Continental Divide Trail is one of eleven designated as National Scenic Trails in the United States. The length of the CDT is generally considered to be 3,100 miles, but numerous alternate routes commonly used by some hikers may shrink the distance to 2,700. The most popular National Scenic Trails, measured in the number of hikers who walk the trails each year, are the Appalachian Trail (AT) and Pacific Crest Trail (PCT).   But the CDT is considered by  hikers to be the most challenging because of the remoteness, high elevation, terrain, navigational challenges, and weather.

CDT Post

CDT post in the San Juan Mountains, Colorado

The CDT begins, from south to north, at the boot heel of New Mexico; into Colorado along the San Juan Mountains and the Rocky Mountains; Wyoming through the Great Divide Basin, the Wind River Range and Yellowstone National Park; and Idaho & Montana through the Bob Marshal Wilderness and Glacier National Park.

For more information: Continental Divide Trail Coalition

Back to: Home